Home > Visual Studio > Visual Studio Setup Project Does Not Uninstall Previous Version

Visual Studio Setup Project Does Not Uninstall Previous Version

Contents

It worked !! Now, your version 2 setup defaults to a per-machine and will behave as described in Option 1 above. Search your help index for UpgradeCode property. Administrators installing software for themselves: This is the case where the upgrade may or may not run as expected - if they choose the per-machine "Everyone" option for the original install, weblink

You also wrote: In other words, the setup is not able to make a clean install which is quite poor for some requirements!! Complications, complications, complications! Sign In·ViewThread·Permalink Not everything accurate... But if you know with reasonable certainty that the uninstall last is not going to work then saving the existing files is "cleaner" and the better approach, but be aware of http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14688980/vs-2010-setup-project-is-not-removing-previous-versions

Visual Studio Setup Project Does Not Uninstall Previous Version

Find the action named: RemoveExistingProducts. Arrange coins on 3x3 table from vertical to horizontal Is it normal to treat Math Theorems as "Black Boxes" Let me tell you a little about myself Did the Gang of Of course, this only applies to projects where you want to consistently deploy an application and install it as one option or the other.

Join them; it only takes a minute: Sign up VS 2010 Setup Project is NOT removing previous versions up vote 1 down vote favorite I am using a setup project in The content you requested has been removed. UpgradeCode as well ProductCode are always updated automatically as well. –balexandre Sep 7 '11 at 10:38 3 UpgradeCode should remain the same, only ProductCode should change. Remove Previous Version Setup Project C# I would appreciate any help you can offer.  If you need any additional information please let me know.

However, it also means that if you have, for example, some .xml CONFIG files that were installed by version 1, and were then modified after being installed, they will not be Visual Studio Installer Remove Previous Version I also had a unversioned config file that was going to be updated. This usually enforces the behavior you want. But, after the installation I could see two installations in the control panel.

Now clean everything up again. Removepreviousversions Doesn't Work Configure your upgrade setups to uninstall a previously installed application using VS.NET and Windows installer technologies. I also tried the following tests: 1) Installed version 1 from a shared drive, then deleted the version 1 msi from the shared drive. 2) Installed version 2 from the same This time run your version 1 install but select "Everyone".

  • more stack exchange communities company blog Stack Exchange Inbox Reputation and Badges sign up log in tour help Tour Start here for a quick overview of the site Help Center Detailed
  • Related 867.gitignore for Visual Studio Projects and Solutions252Format code shortcut for Visual Studio?557How to disable all caps menu titles in Visual Studio481Error 'LINK : fatal error LNK1123: failure during conversion to
  • Forget about upgrades for a moment.
  • This fouls up your uninstall if version 1 was installed for "Everyone" - i.e.
  • It is the Version part that somehow managed to elude me all this time, and therein lies the secret: I was never changing the version number.
  • Now I need to upgrade to a version 2 but keep the log file from version 1.
  • Browse other questions tagged visual-studio-2010 setup-project or ask your own question.
  • I felt that this was not an article of that scope - maybe in future I'll try to tackle that problem.

Visual Studio Installer Remove Previous Version

You may also be interested in... Sign In·ViewThread·Permalink Bigger Issues If User Data is Removed on Uninstall Shane Jimmerson17-Oct-05 15:45 Shane Jimmerson17-Oct-05 15:45 Sounds to me like you are confusing the point when it comes to Visual Studio Setup Project Does Not Uninstall Previous Version However user data should never, ever, be deleted by an uninstall. Visual Studio 2010 Installer Remove Previous Version Things get tricky when un-versioned files with the same name are part of both versions.

Links InterKnowlogy InterKnowlogy On Facebook InterKnowlogy On LinkedIn InterKnowlogy On Twitter Recent By Author Adam Calderon (97)Beth Juncal (1)Bret Faller (3)Bryan Coon (6)Carmine Sampogna (8)Chris Neumann (1)Christopher Rudy (17)Dan Hanan (49)Danny http://protectfileapps.com/visual-studio/visual-studio-2008-wpf-designer-not-working.html We will discuss them in Part 2. I want to Un-install the old version if exists and Installl new version. Assuming you don't have them, you will need to resort to custom actions. Removepreviousversions

What should I do about this security issue? Can anybody help me to resolve this issue? And although you have put your Access database in version 2 as well, suddenly your phone starts ringing off the hook with angry customers asking "I upgraded to version 2. check over here How can you simplify cos⁶x+sin⁶x to 1-3sin²x cos²x?

The other requirements are that the UpgradeCode guids are the same in both setups, and the Setup Project's Version values >= 1.0 (but you seem to have those already). Another Version Of This Product Is Already Installed Msi It is too much asking people to remember whether they installed Just me or Everyone on something they did a couple of years ago. Robert PS: Philip, got any input on this one?

How to say "Ok, then I take X" after your first choice is not available What specifically did Hillary Clinton say or do, to seem untrustworthy to Americans?

Working with setups is very complex and you can never have too much exposure or perspective. so my database is not marked as permanent. Find the original setup upgrade code First you need to correctly configure the upgrade codes. How To Uninstall Visual Studio Configuring an uninstall during an upgrade OK, suppose you have released version 1 of your application.

Because most setup do uninstall (with major upgrades) before installation only few people remark this. I have a database that my users will need to keep but I did not have much knowledge on setups when I first distributed my project... Sign In·ViewThread·Permalink How always overwrite files of File System despite of theirs versions MayIsONe25-May-09 22:36 MayIsONe25-May-09 22:36 I build MVS setup for copying files to target machine. this content Kevin"A cluttered desk is a sign of a briliant mind", unless you can't spell brilliant, which means your just a slob.

How do I sort a list with positives coming before negatives with values sorted respectively? The "typical" administrator is as imaginary as the "typical" user, but I cannot cover every real possibility under the sun. :-) Here is how ALLUSERS = 2 will cause version 2 LANdango September 9, 2008 at 4:33 pm Inside the Solution Explorer, click on your Setup project and look at the bottom of the properties window.🙂 Hey, thanks to the Author, this If a file has a version, like an application or a DLL, the highest version always wins.

I originally had RemovePreviousVersions set to false, after changing it to true I no longer had two instances of the application in the Add/Remove programs. By default, files do NOT always get overwritten. share|improve this answer edited Sep 22 '12 at 3:10 nhahtdh 39.9k1071110 answered Sep 21 '12 at 8:02 Anders M. 12319 1 You need to change the Assembly version in your I saw your solution to that problem but will it work if there are 3 possible prior application versions (with 3 distinct upgrade codes) that the user could have installed on

This content, along with any associated source code and files, is licensed under The Code Project Open License (CPOL) Top Experts Last 24hrsThis month OriginalGriff 310 Jochen Arndt 125 Richard kid in winter How to connect two parabolic paths in TikZ? Sign In·ViewThread·Permalink Who da man...? Which option to choose?

Also, the version 2 MSI does not know how to uninstall the final copies of the files - they are not where it had put them. It was just to see if you had ever encounter this kind of behaviour. I will present two options on how to control how your uninstall/upgrade/reinstall behaves, and these are determined by the Windows Installer sequence of execution. (Actually you have more than two options, There was no dependency it seems.

This is where I think this article is severly flawed (even though it may just be a case of semantics). Back to ORCA.